Joquinn

By Joquinn

Derelict Thursday : Old homeplace

When I was a child, my father worked at a Power station out in the country.  And sometimes when he needed to run an errand out there on the weekend, I would drive with him out on the backroads.  One time, along the road, I saw an old run-down homeplace.  The house was blackened and the roof was caving in and it was surrounded by daffodils in bloom.  The daffodils had spread far into the yard and surrounding woods.  That image is filed in my mind - unexpected beauty - and I can call it up at any time in perfect detail.  

This sunday when my daughter and I were walking, I looked into the woods and saw blooming daffodils that had spread into the woods.  We investigated and, sure enough, there were the remains of an old building.  Here you see the corner and some of the burned out wood.  I also saw an old beam with rusty nails, broken bricks and scraps of tin.  

So here is my Derelict Thursday entry for today.  Thanks to freespiral for hosting today and to SarumStroller who started the challenge.  I look forward to posting Derelict Thursday blips again in October.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.