Dalkeith Country Park- Conservatory

I went to Dalkeith country park today to take a photo of this beautiful Victorian structure.  Although I have have seen it quite a few times I wasn't sure what it was until I check on the map today and noticed that it was referred to a the conservatory.  The stables nearby which is usually a great place to get some lunch was being renovated and the base of the conservatory was fenced off.  The last time I was here I was able to get into the tunnels underneath.  When I was taken photos of the conservatory one of the workman told me that the pillar in the middle is actually a chimney and there was a fire place in the tunnels underneath.  It was used to heat the conservatory and aid the growth of the plants inside.

Due to the fence I found it hard to get a good photo of the conservatory from the base, so I decided to try to find an elevated vantage point.  I noticed an amphitheater on the opposite side of the river that I have never noticed before.  I headed over there and managed to find a great spot to take this photo.  I also gave me a chance to explore the amphitheater and discover the caves nearby.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.