Pisky29

By Pisky29

Perspective

Thought I'd had a tough week in my day job but this evening put that into perspective. I do some work with the Scottish Police Authority, which involves interviewing detainees and unannounced inspections of police facilities. Today when I entered the custody suite I was met by a whey-faced officer who was dealing with her first attempted suicide in custody. Mine too. The situation was under control, the checks built into the custody system had done their job, the officers were handling it in an extremely professional manner, but also a very caring one, which I've come to expect from custody staff.

The detainee is ok, but their plight and the circumstances around it sure put my own week's grumbles into perspective.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.