Good Friday

19:00 at Sahiba Gokcen Airport, Istanbul, waiting for my flight. My brother has emailed me to say that he has put bread, butter, cheese, tea, coffee, wine (both kinds) and beer (the real stuff) in Dad's kitchen, ready for the two of us. He is collecting me at Stansted airport 11pm UK time and will stay the night at Dad's with me.  I had a rotten day at school, I am probably extra sensitive to people, their words and actions due to tiredness after this week's events and last night's euphoric exhaustion, but I can't remember when I was more relieved to get out of Istanbul.  School is closed for Spring Break.  The "Wings" lounge at the airport is one of my favourite places for blips. The space is a collage of lights, views, windows, reflective surfaces and subtle selfies,  See you on the other side....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.