West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

Butcher's Watch Pocket Carbine

I'm visiting my parents this weekend. It's been grey all day with quite a bit of rain so not really weather for walks and photography.

My Dad got out a box of family cameras this morning, pretty much covering the history of photography in the 20th Century. We were looking for the camera that my grandfather used to take his shots of London in the 1930's that I'm using for Then and Now project. 

Unfortunately we worked out that the camera Dad had thought could be the one was actually only released several years after Grandpa left London. 

The wonderful camera in my blip belonged to my maternal grandmother and is the oldest one we have - it's a Butcher's 'Watch Pocket Carbine'. These date from 1927 but Mum thinks my grandmother probably got it second hand sometime in the Thirties.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.