Bank holiday

Today is a public holiday of some sorts in most but sadly not all the countries my employer works in, so while I had nothing to do I was on call all day and couldn't wonder far from home or this company mobile phone. As expected nothing happened but as the weather has been so wet and miserable all day it wasn't a great loss.

Instead I did some filing and sorted out a Java XSLT processor for my better half. I must admit that I hate Java, everything about the language is a faff, nothing works properly, the documentation is badly written, contradictory and hard to understand. We wasted hours because of a semi-colon that should have been a colon and the error messages are so unhelpful it was only a wild guess that fixed it. Now it is all working - at Java's famously fast speed of dead slow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.