It's all about...

By Kelly81ann

....Doing good

Today I walked a different route to work, and I'm glad I did or I wouldn't have seen this little darling,

This little ratther long slow worm was sunning iteslf in the middle of the step, this being a route for school kids, I knew I couldn't leave her there, who knows what would have happened to her, so I carefully picked her up and put her in a nearby garden, The person was in the garden at the time and did ask.

As I have said before this is not a worm or a snake but a legless lizard, it has a forked tongue and eyelids, making it a reptile. It will produce eggs in a sack in her body which will hatch inside her and she will give birth to live young in the summer.

I had to be quite quick with the photo as she wanted to get away, but I think these are great animals and great for gardens and alloments as they eat slugs and other small insects and spiders.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.