Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Couldn't Stand It Any Longer

The espresso/coffee machine has been intermittently leaking water over the countertop for a very long time. I deduced that the main source was the connection between the removable water reservoir and the innards, and ordered the necessary replacement parts from the Seattle dealer.

I suspect that there's also a leak from the brewing area, due to worn O-rings -- the orange ones in the photo. I've cleaned and lubed them occasionally through the opening in the cover. It would have been easier if I'd removed the cover, but you need a special kind of screwdriver with a star-shaped end, and I didn't have one -- or so I thought.

I was sorting through my tool drawers recently, and came across a screwdriver with an assortment of replacement bits, including the kind I needed for this task. After dinner tonight I had an irresistible urge to remove the cover, just to be sure that I could, before I order new O-rings.

While the cover was off I thought I might as well clean and lube the rings. I made a couple of test cups and didn't see any leak. Cynthia walked into the kitchen and said the coffee smelled good! We'll see what happens tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.