A Peep Thru the Pinhole

By Brian1943

Geocaching in Queenstown

Geocaching is a hobby of mine, which involves using a hand-held GPS or smart phone with the appropriate app, to find objects which are hidden - sometimes very cleverly. For more info see www.geocaching.com

However, the particular cache here isn't so much an object to find, but an Earth Cache, i.e. one which is of geological interest. In this case I had to go to the object of geological interest and take a photo of my GPS at that location, whereupon it shows the correct coordinates (see top left corner of GPS screen), plus answer a couple of questions the answers to which can only be found at that location.

I intend to do three or four more (conventional) geocaches tomorrow, also in Queenstown. In case there are any geocachers reading this, the particular earth cache noted here is GC23MPN. When I log it with geocaching.com it will come up on my statistics as the furthest find from my home location. That is, until I get to Dunedin next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.