one species a day

By linnaeus

One species each day (from my backyard)

Ellen and I had planned to walk another part of the Te Araroa Trail, but the weather forecast was not too good so we decided to walk the Mount Herbert track from Gebbies Pass to Diamond Harbour. I took some photographs, most of them having at least on species or more, but they weren't exactly in my backyard. So when I came home I had a beer in my backyard and wondered what species to photograph for today. I heard Bellbirds and saw some Waxeyes, but wasn't able to photograph them and then I saw this Dietes iridioides near the chicken coop. I had to tidy it up quite a bit using Picasa, because the background was full of white spots left behind by the sparrows who steal the chickens' layer pellets. I think it came out quite nicely. I did use the flash again though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.