gennepher

By gennepher

Punch&Judy...

...the traditional version definitely...

I couldn't climb the bandstand steps to get any nearer. The grandkids Z&A went up with mum C to watch this show. I had to satisfy myself trying to take pics through the bandstand railings from below. I couldn't hear what was being said (I'm deaf) but it looked like the usual was happening from what I remembered at the seaside 60 odd years ago...

Show over and Z&A came over to me where I was sitting. Z, who is 6 years old, looked shocked...'Punch put the baby through the sausage machine!' she loudly proclaimed. 'Naughty Punch.' I replied.

C, my daughter...Z&A's mum, said the other mums were shocked. 'Why?' I asked, 'it did advertise itself as a traditional Punch&Judy Show, so what were they expecting?' 'Something more toned down than that,' C grinned. 'Oh jolly good, ' I replied, 'they will have a lot of traumatised children on their hands tonight...'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.