Pet Rescue

This bedraggled little pooch is Bella. She had run away this morning and her owners were frantically searching for her, posting notices all over the area, visiting farms and leaving clothes lying in likely places for her to find. None of which I knew anything about.

I went out at the end of the day for a ride on the Surly 1x1 beach bike, which I've been fiddling with some more so I thought I'd be posting a picture of that - a bit like this perhaps. Well, there's my new tyre in the picture of Bella so it's there after all :)

Big Bella.

But, when I was riding towards Tyninghame beach I noticed a bouncy black thing in a field of barley. I turned around and had a good look - a cat? No, a dog. And no owner. Hmm. She wouldn't come to me so I rode to the carpark expecting to find someone looking, but found a poster instead.

After a few phone calls and a lot of chasing Bella through fields on my bike, I got her. A nice couple lent me a lead and gave her some biscuits, just as her owners drove up and did that "should I be angry or happy?" thing that you can't avoid. She'd been lost for about 6 hours at this point so they had been really worried. A very happy reunion and I hope Bella has learned her lesson!

After that, I had a great ride across the rocks at low tide at Tyninghame and got home pretty knackered. Like Bella, I needed a good bath and a feed. I'm sure we'll both sleep well tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.