One Day Like This...

By LicentiousLib

Wanna see my etchings?

I was on an awayday today.

I was off visiting a fellow jeweller who lives 1/2 hr from me. It can be a solitary hobby/profession, (lone woman and a blow torch).
Many creative types dont like to associate with others, they're nervous - their ideas are precious, they protect them and nurture them like a mother fiercely protects her offspring. I can understand the fear and frustration; many times I've come up with ideas, shared them, only to find others are suddenly creating similar. It's good to inspire, soul destroying to be copied.
BUT
To me, the joy of knowledge is sharing, education.

A date was arranged, plans made, supplies gathered, kettle on (nothing to do with the etching process, but coffee is ALWAYS a prerequisite)


So - back to the day. She wanted to learn to etch metal. This is a process that either uses electricity and saltwater or chemicals to eat away the metal around a design.
It's something I've done a fair few of.

Designs were prepared, using stickers, ink stamped images, pictures drawn with Sharpie. I didn't have anything specific in mind (as I'm sure you can see from my results). It was more just playing with techniques and ideas.

A very fun and successful day and she was very happy with her creations too. It's nice to help other people expand their range, explore new things. I'm being very careful not to get too drawn in though. I've spent the past few months trying to narrow down my focus!

I tend to be waaay to "oooooh squirrel"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.