loisbiz

By loisbiz

Common Loon

I just read that this loon is common on the Oregon Coast as a transient, but I don't recall ever seeing it before. It is a great diver and can stay underwater for long periods of time. It is not great in it's take offs from the water and it is impossible for it to take off from land. (I just read that.) I didn't see it take off, but I did observe it diving for a long time! I liked this photo because it showed how pretty his back feather look.

We just got back from the beach; we had out of town company or we wouldn't have gone over right after getting back from our cruise. Now we are home again, so I have an internet connection again. We are going to have to give in to the cost of WIFI at our beach house!!! I am glad to be back home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.