58° North Daily

By 58NorthPhoto

Glasgow

We had to head briefly back north to Glasgow today, as Michael had got tickets to see the Stranglers, his favourite band, given to him for Christmas. Originally we were just going to spend the weekend in Glasgow, but the price of hotels meant it was actually cheaper to travel another 200+ miles south, stay with my mum for the weekend and just have one night in Glasgow (and also meant we didn't have to put the dogs in kennels). We got the train up from Preston, so no driving at least, and arrived in Glasgow at 2pm. We did some shopping and had a couple of drinks. We'd wanted just simple, cheap pub grub for something to eat, but everywhere that did that kind of thing was packed, so we ended up at the Handmade Burger Company. It was very tasty - I had a chicken burger with smokey bacon, peanut butter and chilli jam (not a combination I would have thought of, but I'll be making this at home in the future) with peri-peri chips and onion rings - but a bit on the pricey side for a burger! The blip is the view from our table on the balcony. The gig was good, I only knew a handful of songs, but I still enjoyed it. Just too many people in a small space for my liking - it felt really packed in the venue and almost impossible to move anywhere. Cheap hotel for the night in the centre of Glasgow meant very little sleep; I'm so used to complete silence at night, so the sound of drunks and traffic and sirens was very odd.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.