Easter Sunday Brunch

...Pileated Woodpecker style! I'm not quite sure if I'm seeing the same one each time or it's mate. I've not seen two together on the feeders or in the trees. Maybe this is the 'dad' and 'mom' is sitting on some eggs. I hope that's the case. I would love for a pair to bring their offspring to the feeders to learn to dine there like they did two years ago. I'm not sure I can get any better shots than these. Light was perfect, had the right correct right (whatever) lens on the camera, dogs were asleep and so not pestering to go out and the Big Woody was in absolutely no hurry to complete it's meal and leave...I snapped 110 shots from inside the house shooting through a slightly opened sliding glass door. It was kind of difficult deciding which one to blip so just Wing on over to HERE to see three or so more close-ups of this magnificent Woodpecker. I truly love them. Yesterday, while I was working just below the feeder, I heard the sound of big, powerful wings, looked up and the Pileated was on the feeder about four feet from my nose. And me with no camera handy...Haha! The woodys have all become very comfortable with us being in the yard. Wishing all of you a wonderful week! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.