Blue Sky

This is how the sky looks from my parent's front yard. This was how I saw the sky growing up.

Today my mom wanted to take me shopping for a few maternity things. She insisted it was her "prerogative" to do so. So, off we went. I picked two things and we also picked up two small things for the baby. As we were checking out she turns to me and says, "I am going to need to get a second job!". I am sure that she just meant it as in, "I will want to buy lots of little things for my grandbaby." but it didn't come across this way. It made me feel horrible and guilty even though she was the one who insisted we go shopping. It reminded me of the, "You're an idiot!" comment from Christmas that really hurt my feelings. It's a bit like she searches for the right words but the ones she comes up with aren't quite just right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.