Benidorm

I'm in Benidorm. There, that feels better! Almost like a confession and the weight has fallen off my shoulders! It's a family holiday arranged by Grandad and the children are having a wonderful time. We are too.

For those of you who have not yet visited this concrete metropolis, let me try and paint a picture for you. You arrive if you're lucky by taxi. It doesn't make it any prettier but nonetheless it cuts out the never ending bus journey that I enjoyed and which can be a little tortuous after the 17th stop....

The trip from the airport along the coast is quite lovely and I found myself wondering if the facts of what I would face would be different to the fiction dear friends had filled my over receptive mind with. The truth is my initial impressions were far worse than what I had expected. Ugly high rise apartments fill quite literally the horizon whilst the streets are filled with less than inviting bars jam packed with in the main many drunken British men of the portly belly variety.

And yet....... The Spanish come here in their droves and as you get into the rhythm of Benidorm you find your place. The police are here everywhere meaning safety is not an issue and once you become aware of the hideous streets to avoid, there is a coastal beauty to be had and not just in Old Town.

For starters, a place that is adored by so many of my fellow countrymen means that once you get away from the obvious louts, you find many here simply for a good time. That's infectious. The Spanish too on their never ending exercise in running and walking is a real joy to join in with.

Then there's the sea, the beautiful blue sea, bathed everyday in golden sunshine and no better spot to observe it than from the terrace above the church in Old Town next to the rather lovely Venicia Hotel.

The weather helps. The fact that most days you will be blessed at some point with the delicious kiss of the Mediterranean sun is of course your Brucey bonus. Coming after what seemed like a very long British winter, this has been outstanding!

I should add that we are staying in the hotel where they film the TV programme 'Benidorm.' Fever pitch excitement abounds today as the film crew arrive and the hotel gets its new name and flag. Hordes of folk are coming in to look making the already crowded poolside fit for bursting. At least the music is good, apart from every speaker being blown meaning it does sound like underwater music. My young nephew in law sits next to me tucking into a cheeseburger, tortilla, sausages, donuts and a cake. Contentment is.......

Still with fine weather, precious company and excellent fresh food too, you really can't grumble. Find the beauty and it will feed your soul.

A X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.