Bombylius major

A beautiful day with real warm to the sun, my kind of weather.

A friend came over for a walk through the woods this morning before meeting the boys for lunch at the golf club.  Lots of white wood anemones and the odd bluebell peeping through.

I found this poor thing on its back in the conservatory this afternoon, dying of heat stroke I wouldn't wonder.  I put it outside to take its picture and am pleased to say it flew off after a while.  It's a Bee Fly and in spite of its very fierce looking proboscis it is totally harmless.  I like the detail on the wings and its very furry coat.

Apologies to Mono-Monday, but I just couldn't do it.

I may not be able to blip tomorrow as I have to be at the hospital first thing in the morning for an ultrasound, then back later for a Nuclear medical injection (radiation) and then various scans on my neck during the afternoon.  I'm just wondering if I'll glow green like my profile picture. 
All to do with osteoporosis, so I will report back whether you like it or not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.