beyond belief

By jandeblipper

the pipe organ

My parents were members of the Duncan Christian Reformed Church, which is similar to the Presbyterian Church. My father wanted a pipe organ in the church, which the church board approved. October of 1984 he purchased a pipe organ from an organ builder in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. We drove a rental truck to Iowa where we loaded in the organ. My father and a group of friends installed it.

Nigel, the fellow in the photograph, likes to play the pipe organ.

My wife introduced me to Nigel. He knew about my father and his interest in pipe organs. I answered his questions. My wife suggested to Nigel that he video tape his playing and post the videos on YouTube. Nigel asked me to make the video recordings.

The pipe organ in this photograph is the one assembled by my father.

BTW, Vincent van Gogh's father was a minister in the Reformed Church and Carl Jung's father was a minister in the Swiss Reformed Church.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.