Comma

I make no apology for blipping a butterfly two days running because I am especially delighted to see a Comma.
 Many years ago (1960's) my father, an amateur entomologist, assured me that a Comma was a rarity, meaning the species was in very low numbers and so I expected never to see one.
My first sighting was a few years ago, at the Weald and Downland Museum, (way down South) so I never expected to see one in Scotland.
During the past four years of blipping I have seen photographs of them but, until yesterday at B&S's, had not seen a live one.
Today, on a walk by the Braid Burn through Dreghorn Woods, I saw this one, which stopped and posed long enough for a half-decent photo before taking off to follow one of the several peacocks enjoying another day of Spring sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.