Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Rhine Cruise Day One

Dropped wee Archie off at his sitter before 8am - he rushed in and was happy to see her - which is a good sign.

Such a schamozzle at Edinburgh Airport - the security procedures were awful - all new set up, with loads of X-ray machines, but still huge queues and frayed tempers. However, that was nothing to the trauma at Schiphol Airport, where our luggage didn't arrive...

Well, it did, but we were at the wrong carousel, though it was the one they announced on the plane. Eventually we twigged, and I found my lonely suitcase. We waited and waited and waited, JR getting more and more frantic. No sign of it. We went to the lost baggage office to fill in a form, with JR's holiday already spoiled. I popped back to have another look, and there is was - just about to disappear again. I may have knocked a few folk spinning as I rushed to grab it!

We were welcomed on board by all the staff lined up handing us roses and warm flannels. We assembled in the lounge for snacks and drinks and mingling. There was a chap on a piano and drum machine providing a muzak accompaniment... After a large 'cocktail of the day' I caught myself tapping my foot to 'The Green Green Grass of Home' and other such old favourites. JR, still shaken after her airport trauma, accidentally ordered a margarita.

The staff are mostly from Eastern Europe or Indonesia. Our personal butler is an Indonesian called Zulkipli and is very charming. His duties include shoe polishing, early morning coffee deliveries, salon appointments and restocking our minibar twice a day.

This was the only photo I took all day, although JR's face when I found her suitcase would have been a goodie. There was a splendid buffet dinner tonight, and this chap was serving ice cream. I had already partaken of a crême caramel, fresh fruit and a scoop. After a suitable wait I returned for seconds and asked for two scoops - they were quite small.

I added a generous serving of chocolate sauce, then, as my cutlery had already been cleared away, I went back and asked, 'Could I have another spoon please?'

Without batting an eyelid, he said, 'Certainly madam,' and gave me another scoop of ice cream. I like this service! Though I did explain the mistake and we both had a giggle.

We then had a big talk about safety routines on board etc which went on for an hour and I noted several folk dozing off. Some people have travelled a long way. There are lots of Americans, Canadians, Aussies, a few Kiwis apparently, but mainly English folk.

Some stalwarts have headed into the city to see the Red Light District. We passed on that one, having seen it before. Also, it's an early start with an 8am tour to Edam and somewhere else..

'Gala dinner' tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.