Point to Point

The thumbnail selection of today's shot looks better than the actual shot posted. We went for an afternoon's racing at a Point to Point meeting at Aldington near Ashford with our friends Al and Liz who were over for the day. Unfortunately I didn't say to Al this was where we were planning to go so he only brought his bridge camera rather than his proper DSLR camera.

This is the first time we've been to a Point to Point since Easter Saturday 2002 - I remember the date as it was the day the Queen Mother died. I used to go to the Eyton-On Severn meetings on Easter Mondays with my Dad and Grandad as a youngster. We'd travel from Wellington to Eyton, complete with Easter Egg supplies on a Midland Red bus. I will always have an image in my mind of a long row of buses parked up on beside the racecourse.

We enjoyed the afternoon at the races, having a bet or two - my two horses came second both times but Susan's won at 2-1on so for her £2 she came away with £3. Expensive to get in though and the fields were small, a maximum of six horses for the races we saw. The weather was very disappointing though - the opposite of Saturday - warm and sunny in the morning when we went for a walk around Mote Park in preparation for the eating and drinking to come. But the afternoon turned out cold, dreary and windy. Such a shame.

We took up a good position by a fence which was jumped three times in the course of the race. This was the best shot, most of the rest were out of focus as although I was using the rapid fire function I hadn't the right depth of field to keep more in focus.

Still it whetted Al and Liz's appetite and we may be going with them to see the Cambridgeshire in September at Newmarket.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.