A Ramblers Tale

By ramblerstale

Letter

It's a rainy day in Ningbo, not necessarily cold, just rainy. I went to the supermarket, knowing I needed to buy food. I'm miserably, sick and unhappy. Might take a nap soon. Puppy is being her usual puppy self. Demanding attention and the like, I actually had a hard time picking the picture today, so if you want to see pics of the puppy please look on my Facebook page. I ran into a relators colleague who finally gave me the key to my mailbox.

When I got home I took pup out and then headed over to my mailbox. There among the deemed letters I found yours. Walking back in the rain I set it aside on my counter once I reached home and did a few things then made myself some tea. I changed out of my wet cloths, poured myself a cup of hot tea and watched it steam, then gingerly I opened your three page letter.
Taking a deep breathI began to read, finding the texture of the paper between my fingers reminding me that you're a real person even though you're miles away. You wondered if it made you more real, in a way. You are world apart from me and though my handwriting isn't good and often my letters digital, it was comforting to know that someone took the time to write a letter, put it in the mail until it was received at my door and I was able to read its contents, that takes time, and it is very personal.

For me writing a letter is like taking a photograph, it captures the moment, the object and the heart behind what often is said and done. Its amazing how words on a page can capture so much of a person, and can mean the world depending on whom the sender was.

So sitting on my couch curled up with my tea, my head pounding, my heart is warm knowing that you took the time to send me words on a page that will speak through time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.