Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The late one

The surf was going off at Merewether beach this morning.  This young chap was one of the last to arrive.  He had a mate who was taking photographs (or videos) further down the beach and an enormous lens.  By the time he had arrived the sun was well and truly up and the others had been catching the "good ones" for ages.

I also received in the mail a little missive from JustBrian who lives in the Northern version of Newcastle.  It is "Larn Yersl' Geordie"  With some practice I may even become fluent.  Some useful phrases at the back include:  

Giz a bullet   -   May I have one of your sweet meats
The chimlas ahad - The chimney has caught fire
Gan on coin yer gord -  Let me see you turn your hoop in a circle, Felicity.
Mind them's bonny galluses - I say, I do admire your taste in braces.

Isn't our blip community the most wonderful place.

        

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.