THE SCHOOL GIRL

...this little Hummel (made in Germany) was a gift from Alice. She is giving things to her friends now before the big move. This little school girl reminded me of the time after the war, when our relatives 'the rich uncle in America' would send us care packages and we would pick out a little Hummel each year for him at x-mas. The logo is a little Hummel=bee, therefore the name.  I googled the history of the company and found it very interesting. In those days we did not know much about it. As a child I loved 
those little treasures, but we never bought one for ourselves, because we thought it would be Kitsch. I love this little one because of those memories and also because I think they are soooo cute and I don't care anymore if it is kitsch or not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.