Return to the North

By Viking

Blood swept lands and seas of red

Many months ago I read on the BBC news website of an art installation to commemorate the war dead from WW1. When I went to the website they were advertising that you could purchase the poppies after the installation has been dismantled. Because my arrival back in England was going to be a month after the dismantling I decided to order one of the poppies. Today it arrived - in tact, with its own certificate of authenticity and a booklet telling me about the installation.
Even more personal and poignant for me is that it arrived on what would have been my mummy's birthday. God bless you mum, miss you every day. The grief still catches me by surprise at times although the arrival of the poppy was a sure fire way of opening the floodgates

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.