Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

Spring Run

I spent some time this evening gearing up for my first paddle of the Spring season.  I built this cedar strip kayak 6 years ago and she weighs in at about 38 pounds, measuring 17' 9" in length.  The design is the Spring Run from Redfish Kayaks in Port Townsend, WA. The entire build was the equivalent of a winter long therapy session for me (it actually took about 6 months to complete in the evening and on weekends). While my father and grandfather were both wood workers, I am not and had to learn the nuances of each tool as I went along.  It was at once one of the best and most frustrating experiences I've had, as far as projects go.  Like a thump-ripe melon: so sweet and such a mess.  I've been pleased with the end result - she tracks well and has provided countless hours of enjoyment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.