Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Wide Angle Wednesday: Up Close and Personal

Getting up close and personal with a wide angled lens is not an especially conventional idea nor a particularly flattering one. In fact to shoot good portraits we normally use short telephoto lenses to avoid distortions and aid in the provision of a gentle, isolating depth of field. Wide angle lens portraits do have some appeal however in that they elongate features, help to caricature faces and provide a greater sense of immediacy. You really start to feel that you are TOO close. Disconcerting isn't it?

Let's not go any further without thanking my beautiful model, Norma, who was quite happy to pose for these shots. She was actually fascinated with the result and was quite pleased for me to post this one. My lady is a really good sport. One of the reasons I love her so dearly.

This is my contribution to the Wide Angle Wednesday: Up Close and Personal challenge. Why not join in? Use a wide angle lens or wide angle zoom setting, think about the theme and fire away. Just tag your blip with "widwed06". I shall be away for a day or two and may not comment heavily until I get back. Come Friday however (albeit fairly late on Friday) I shall post my reactions to the challenge and feature some of the images that appealed to me most. See you then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.