asparagus hunt

This morning I was tasked with buying asparagus for lunch, to go with schnitzel and mashed potato.

The asparagus season has just started. It's a big thing in the foodie calendar around here . One of the main growing areas (Schrobenhausen) is just to the south. 

Spargel

It's not the same as the green stuff we get in Britland. Million miles better. Whilst available in the usual food shops and supermarkets, the best way to get it is from the farmers' roadside stalls which pop up at this time of year.

For me it was the perfect excuse to get on my bike and cycle around in the (cool) morning sunshine. The first stall I came to was closed, but the second was open.

A very friendly lady took pity on my pitiful German, and relieved me of €13 for 20 stalks. Not a cheap treat.

   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.