Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Water in the gorge

Poured some "water" into the gorge today.  I had already done some dry brushing on the rock wall, added lots of talus, planted some bushes, sprinkled some weeds and grass, and glued everything down. The water is a two-part epoxy called "Magic Water".  I have tried many different types and this stuff is the best - bar none.  It does have some smell but not nearly as bad as the Envirotex stuff.  Takes about 24 hours at 70 degrees to set up and then it is really hard.  A word of caution - this stuff is self-leveling and very viscus.  It will find ANY hole in the base and drain itself onto your floor. Ask me how I know.  So I seal everything where it is going and just to be sure, put a plastic sheet under the layout.  So far so good.  I might tone down the bushes a little and add some other fine light green ground foam to them for more variety.  But as Allan McCullum, a GREAT model railroader, once said - model everything to a "good enough" state and get on with it.  The top of the rock wall will get bushes and trees once I get the blue background in place behind it.

While this stuff was drying I air brushed my bridges.  They are all re-claimed from my past layout and the colors did not match.  So a re-spray with "engine black" then do weathering with dirt and rust.  They are ready to be put up.  Once that is done and the track is laid on top I will re-blip the scene.  Finally - then on with the main line track.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.