Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Junction 28 (M4) Newport

A few weeks ago I read an article that mentioned junction 28 of The M4 motorway (it is the road that runs from Swansea to London) was to undergo extensive work to make it more efficient. The junction is at Tredegar Park, Newport, South Wales (UK).

There was an aerial picture with the article that I thought was very good and it gave me this idea to get my own. My picture is looking at the roundabout in the opposite direction so I haven't exactly copied it in any way. I quite like the way the motorway leads through the picture and captures Forge Road and the farm track off it.

There aren't many days I don't use this roundabout and as I've lived in a villages just off it for some 35 years, it's part of my life. I have recorded it and will try and grab a pic of the junction when the work has been completed. It's a major job which is going to take quite a while. More delays!

Here's some information on the work for those interested:
MAJOR roadworks aimed at improving Junction 28 of the M4, at Tredegar Park, are expected to start early next year.The work will include the roundabouts at Pont Ebbw and Bassaleg, in an attempt to relieve the bottlenecks which currently form around rush hour.

After the work is finished, Tredegar Park roundabout is set to be a more elongated shape, making it easier for motorists to drive straight through.
Engineering firm Costain was awarded the contract, the Welsh Government confirmed. The contract is worth £10.5 million.According to the Construction Enquirer website, documents show the new junction will be made longer with a central link from the M4 eastbound to the A48. It will involve the demolition of the current westbound slip road to the M4 bridge over the A48. The work is expected to start early next year.

In a statement to the Welsh Assembly two years ago, transport minister Edwina Hart said improvements at the junction - along with a link road scheme in Cardiff Bay - were vital to improving transport links in South Wales.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.