Just what I always wanted

The one thing that made my trip to town yesterday worthwhile - purple wellies!

I have been after new wellies for far too long - my old ones  have a split in them and every time that I go out in the bay in them,  I get wet socks. I hate wet socks.

These I bought at Birsay Farmers. I asked for a Size 7 in purple and the young man serving me went away to get them and handed them over in a large carry box. I carried them in the rain, all the way down to Tesco. I carried them in the rain to the Nobilia shop, with two bags of groceries added to my load. The Nobilia shop was closed for holidays. I swore. I carried the boots and my shopping in the rain all the way back to the ferry, where I sat and ate a very late and much-needed lunch in the waiting room before stopping to open and admire my new stylish footwear in ... Size 6!

I had half an hour until boarding time, not really long enough to leg it back to Birsay Farmers and back. So I did something very unusual for me: I deployed the mobile phone. I  rang and asked if they might send someone down with an exchange pair to save me coming back into town another day. They were happy to oblige and the young man who had initially served me was round in under five minutes with a pair in the correct size. Well done, Birsay Farmers.

I may have to rethink my ideas on mobile phones.

Thanks to all for Blipday greetings yesterday. It took me totally by surprise as I had been concentrating on the goal of fifty in a row. I think this may be it... Nope, that didn't work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.