Back to the old house

I nipped into town today, since I was earlier than planned I jumped off for the galleries at the west en and went to see if any of the Dance performances were taking place at Julie Duffy's exhibition in the Pig Rock Bothy at the Gallery of Modern Art. As I went down on spec there was nothing on when I got there, but that's ok, I'm going back to document the 2pm performance tomorrow.

As my next stop was gallery seventeen on Dundas Street I decided to walk along the Water of Leith walkway. This took me past my first proper flat I had in Edinburgh. I moved into a room in another flat for a couple of months, but that had been an ongoing party flat for a few years before. This one (specifically the top row of windows on the right, the two furthest right being the living room and the one to the left of those being my room) was the first flat that I searched for with friends and we moved in together. It only occurred to me today that it was twenty years ago. Scary where the time goes.

It was a great place to live though, at the time I had a record shop in Stockbridge so the walk to work each day was along the Dean Path and the water of Leith Walkway, I could convince my self for ten minutes each way that I wasn't right in the middle of the city.

I headed along to see Sam's exhibition which was good then headed to meet Roz from her work. On the way I bumped into Hazel and one of her friends which was a pleasant surprise. After that Roz and I even managed a wee bit of time at the spa before heading home for a good session at Taekwon Do, all in all a great way to spend a holiday day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.