On Some Days

By V1k1

Grey Day

This morning has been overcast and cooler.  I should be doing some planning for school.  What to do with 6 year olds for 11 weeks?  Worse still what to do with 5 year olds?  I always dread the little guys but they usually end up the most rewarding classes.  They are more open to trying things in art.  They just finish everything so quickly so I need to have a lot planned for them.
To prevent myself from settling down to work every time  the sky lightened I would take the camera outside.  I spent a quiet few minutes looking through the lense at this bumble bee inside a perennial cornflower. It is amazing how much you see when you keep still and look. 
That is one of the "habits of mind" art is supposed to foster in children . . . notice deeply and another is . . . identify patterns.  Sometime next term I have to take a staff meeting about how to integrate art into the classroom programme. Obviously it is in the back of my mind. I hate buzz words like "mindfulness".  I think I should go and find another bee and calm down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.