ForthPorts

By ForthPorts

Crisis!

An unsolicited text about a debit card I didn’t know I had and it’s about to expire!

I called them and a woman with a very strong foreign accent (although she assured me she lived quite close to where I do) was very helpful. 

Due to data protection legislation she couldn’t divulge the account details for me, but it didn’t matter as they could process the call without that. I thought it might be a scam, but she told me a few security questions would sort that out.

“Can you confirm your mother’s maiden name.” She asked. 

I gave her my mother’s maiden name. 

“That is correct.” She said. Phew, so far so good. 

“Next you must confirm your address.” 

I gave her my address. 

“That is correct, well done, you have passed the security questions.” I felt rather pleased. 

All I had to do now was to supply the details of another active card and using this she would be able to sort out the card that was about to expire. Following that she said, as an additional line of security, they would need the number off the back of the active card. They were sticklers for security, but it did bring peace of mind. Fortunately I had the details to hand. 

She assured me again that it would all be fine and I need do nothing more. A model of efficiency. 

Crisis averted!
I’ll sleep soundly tonight……….
Oh, wait?….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.