From the Motte

My lunch time stroll during my day at the CAB took me to the top of the motte of Tonbridge castle. The motte (the mound built from the earth dug out to make the moat) was built in about 1088 and originally had a stone keep on the top - now just piles of random stones; a suitable subject for Derelict Thursday perhaps.  From the motte there is different view of the 14C gatehouse than those I have featured before.
If you look carefully you  can see the corner of the new roof which was completed in 2003 to protect visitors to the gatehouse in all weathers.  I really must go inside one of these days. 
I ate the healthy sandwich made at home for my lunch,  while sitting in the castle grounds and then went to the cake shop. I thought about my blip friend Robin who often has a healthy fruit tart - but could not find one in Greggs on the high street.  Next week I will walk to Waitrose, they are bound to have one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.