Dean Village

After a meeting in Kilmarnock today, which was really useful as well as enjoyable, I headed back to Edinburgh. Instead of slumping in front to the telly this evening, I decided to make the most of the glorious weather and walked about 4 miles round Dean Village, Stockbridge, as well as the New Town. This is one of the things I love about the longer days, being able to walk round parts of the city after work.

Dean Village (from dene, meaning 'deep valley'), which I blipped is a former village immediately northwest of the city centre. It was known as the "Water of Leith Village" and was the centre of a successful grain milling area for more than 800 years. At one time there were no fewer than eleven working mills there, driven by the strong currents of the Water of Leith. Nowadays, Dean Village is one of the city's most picturesque parts of the city to wander round.

I hope you have all had a good Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.