The Stone-Breaker

This is a Saxifraga 'Elf Rose' plant.  The Latin word saxifraga means literally "stone-breaker", from saxum ("rock" or "stone") and frangere ("to break"). The name is more likely to refer to the plant's medicinal use for treating kidney stones, rather than breaking rocks apart - though it is indeed often planted in rock gardens.  I spotted it on sale outside Waitrose as I dashed in at sundown to get something for supper.  I must confess to being completely absorbed in my long awaited sort-out at the flat all day, and forgetting to look out for a blipfoto earlier on...


I've also made a start on being a "stone-breaker" myself.  At work, many of the team often left cakes, chocolate, doughnuts, cookies, rocky road bites, mini chocolate rolls, millionaire's shortbread and countless other sticky delights in the tea drawer where we kept our mugs, tea and coffee.  There was also a machine in the office kitchen which dispensed frothy Suchard hot chocolate <sigh>.  You can see where this is going.....  Over the past year I've gradually put on a whole stone in weight, feel unfit and sluggish, and can't now fit into a whole load of my clothes.  As I took a massive drop in income to retire early, I'm not about to go and buy new things to wear.  So the alternative is to go cold turkey and leave the days of daily sugary treats behind.  Easter was my last choc-fest hurrah, and from now on I'm determined to cut right back on my sugar and fat intake and get walking more often.


It's going to be very hard.  Wish me luck...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.