Beeeze

By beeeze

Waking up Homer

I'm planning some sourdough time this weekend. I don't eat a lot of bread so when I've got another person here it's nice to make some and know that it will all get eaten.

From reading many (many) forums on this the general rule of thumb for sourdough appears to be 1:2:3 (starter:water:flour). I have discovered that this doesn't work so well for me, naturally, so I do water:starter:flour. Possibly because I like my starter quite liquid but for whatever reason the lower weight of starter simply doesn't give the right result.

I've only ever used white flour but one day I would like to try adding some rye into the mix, the trouble is rye flour can go off quite quickly and I don't bake often enough to make it cost effective. I know you can store it in the fridge or freezer but frankly both are full to the seams with other, more useful/important things. There's no Weigh and Save type place locally either so I can't go and buy just a scoopful when I need it.

Anyway... this is day two of Operation Wake Homer so he's beginning to look quite lively. Another feed tomorrow and he should be strong enough to make a loaf.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.