peterdawson

By peterdawson28

The beginning of the pier show

In October 2010, after being closed for some time, Hastings pier was devastated by fire and really looked as though it would never open again.

It would be an exaggeration to say it has risen phoenix-like from the ashes but if the current plans stay on track it is now scheduled to reopen this summer in a much revised form. The building with the two domes is all that survives of the old superstructure and this will be incorporated into new training restaurant.

Normally when I visit Hastings it guarantees that the weather will turn cold and/or wet but today couldn't have been more different. Glorious sunshine almost all day long with just a hint of a sea mist which accounts for the lack of a horizon in the photo and barely a ripple on the surface of the Channel - I'm sure the Easter school holidays were never this good when I was a kid!

In common with a number of other recently joined blippers this is my real 100th day of posting and I'd like to thank everybody who has taken the time to visit my page so far and to make so many positive comments, this can only inspire me to try harder for the next hundred days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.