Residents' Lounge

I'm in the residents' lounge of a rather nondescript hotel in Helmsdale. Wood chip on the wall etc. I'm the only one in here.. in fact I think I may be the only resident. Helmsdale is very quiet this evening. The only other signs of life nearby are in the fish tank, and they don't look overjoyed with their accommodation.
Still, all I want for tonight is a place to rest. I've been on the go since 4.30am. I left at 5 to drive to Lockerbie and met D on his way home from work. Ships that pass in the night...
A bus to Inverness and a trip on the most northerly rail line in the UK, a diesel train clacking along the shore and inland for the Lairg loop.
I bought sandwiches for tea and ate them on the seashore. Lovely to listen to the waves and the seabirds.
Bedtime soon. I wonder if fish dream?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.