On Some Days

By V1k1

Woman with Double Treadle

This morning my friend Claire and I immersed ourselves in the Creative Fibre National Festival.  It is advertised as "Fashion, Fibre and Fun.  A festival that will allow you to bubble over with creativity."  All the garments were amazing and the textures, patterns and colours were so varied.  I sure was bubbling over with amazement at the creativity of the people who I'm assuming are mostly women.
We worked out it's at least 25 years since we were spinning wool.  Claire still has her wheel but mine has been lost with shifting from place to place.  We were both intrigued  with this spinning wheel that has a double treadle so you can use both feet.  It was ever so relaxing to watch this lady spin.  She was using carded Alpaca wool.
I bought some Merino wool dyed shades of green, blue and pink.  If it was a plant you would call it variegated.  I can't think what the term for wool in several colours is.  Out with the knitting needles now.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.