Possibly the best

By Letters

Composition No 723: Lancaster

My family on both my mothers and fathers side took very great care to place there sons and daughters in positions of safety during the war of 39 - 45 which did wonders for my entry into the world.
Various uncles went to exotic places such as El Alamein, Tobruk and Cairo as clerks and supply officers. Various aunts tracked air battles, gave troops tea at railway stations and generally "helped the war effort".
They all had stories of people they had known who had not been quite so fortunate.
My dad repaired bombers. They went out, killed folk in Europe and often came back full of holes.
Now, we all take chances in life. But I bet my grandad would have been quite worried had he found out that his son took this photo from a Lancaster Bomber over Germany.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.