my little eye

By clarebeme

Dens rule!

Fantastic day at Compton Verney which I've wanted to visit for ages. The girls started by building a den in the woodland playground. It's such a joy to see Elsa still doing this stuff; still playing with her mates. The house itself held treasures too - a fantastic exhibition of Martin Parr photos taken of the residents of a cluster of Yorkshire villages in the late 80s and with a focus on the congregations of the local non-conformist churches. Quite brilliant.

Then there was a small exhibition of Caneletto paintings, spectacular and quite photographic to my eye - some of his London river views are like modern day photographic panoramas. It was great to see having been to the Turner exhibition last year. Compare and contrast. We lost the kids at one point, thought they were roaming the grounds then found them all sitting on the floor in the gift shop reading books. Joy!

Supper, courtesy of Carole was at an all-you-can-eat Chinese place. The kids were in seventh heaven! I wasn't far behind; watching their happiness, stuffing my face somewhat obscenely and being with my bestie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.