my little eye

By clarebeme

The Islands

Oh what a treat. Went to see (one of) my favourite bands of recent times - Future Islands. They've gone stellar (well relatively) since we first saw them five years ago so I reckon this might be the last time we see them live unless they appear at a festival we happen to be at. It was a brilliant gig, so a perfect swan song.

This gig was at the Roundhouse, the next time they play in the UK will be a huge outdoor BT Summer concert. It's all a far cry from the 30 or so audience watching them in Brighton with us a few years back. Given that my days of elbowing my way to the front of gigs are long gone, I am now just surrounded by vastly tall people at gigs like this and I can hardly get a glimpse. Sam the lead singer is a fantastic showman with an absolute and complete obvious love of playing live and a totally unique style - so he's well worth standing on tiptoes for.

Its great to see them hitting the big time. Anyone with their heart in 80s electronica might find them appealing in a slightly twisted way.

It was this performance that launched them.

Actually maybe it won't be the last time we see them

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.