Amateur's confessions

By S79

Love of books

Today I had a book rescue mission from our basement. We live in a big a house with 9 flats and a previous owner of one of the flats had left all his books to the basement, hundreds of them. They had been there for about 5 years and we decided to clear out the basement as the rats loved to nest there.

I love books. 
So it was quite painful for me to see, that 90% of them were ruined- muddy, full of rat bites and mold. 
But I managed to rescue some of them, quite good ones I didn't have before. Stendhal, Twain, Henry James, Pushkin etc.

We had the most glorious spring day, up to +14 degrees of warmth for the first time. I was sorting books and feeling perfectly happy.

And when my kids took over I had to grab the camera as the scene looked very poetic.
:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.