Fresh as a Daisy

It's nearly two weeks since I left my job at BBC Radio, and I'm just beginning to wake up each morning feeling refreshed instead of still tired.  I'm making the adjustment to my new life slowly and at my own pace.  Everyone has a different way of reacting to such a big change in lifestyle.  This is my way.  I'm achieving small things each day in my mission to set everything straight after increasing neglect in recent months and years. Little by little, bit by bit, in manageable chunks.  Better this way than not to start at all.

The flower in my blipfoto isn't actually a daisy, it's a White Daisy Chrysanthemum.  I bought a dinky little planted pot of it at a much-reduced price in Waitrose the other day, and this one tiny sprig became detached.  Rather than throw it away when it looked so pretty and fresh, I put it in an eggcup of water.  The rest of the plant is doing well in the kitchen.

I particularly like this quote about fresh starts -

"I have always been delighted at the prospect of a new day, a fresh try, one more start, with perhaps a bit of magic waiting somewhere behind the morning"


J. B. Priestley (1894-1984)




A small personal footnote about J. B. Priestley:   In the summer of 1984, one of the last programmes I worked on as a Production Assistant in BBC Radio Drama to Producer John Theocharis was a feature celebrating the life and work of the writer John Boynton Priestley.  John Theocharis knew I enjoyed dabbling in sound effects and was about to start training as a sound engineer (Studio Manager) myself, so he allowed me to appear in the programme as Priestley typing on an old manual typewriter.  Called "A Workmanlike Man", the feature was meant to mark J. B. Priestley's 90th birthday on the 13th September 1984, but he died a month short of it on the 14th August - just a day or so after we had finished making the programme.  It became instead his obituary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.