People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Brutal

For the first time since we moved to Starkville, I had the pleasure to visit the Vet School complex. An imposing and impressive example of Brutalism (type of "in-your-face" Modern architecture), the building is bound to anger and delight its users. The dinky, windowless,  concrete-block classrooms felt like jail cells, despite sporting most impressive technologies for teaching. On the other way, the amount of glass in hallways and passages is most pleasant. Lesson learned: use classroom and offices for storage, and move everyone to the exterior walls of the buildings?

In all fairness, I did not venture past where I needed to go, so I may be missing some redeeming virtues.

I loved this wall feature. Old or new, it screams MODERNISM!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.