Goodbye Volvo

I can still remember buying the Volvo. I thought I had sold my soul. After a string of Audi quattros I conceded they were impractical for family life and sourced a grey Volvo estate of the diesel variety and put the 7 seat conversion in.

No more instantaneous adrenalin rush, awesome cornering and Porsche baiting (especially in the rain). A flat cap and tartan travel rug beckoned.

But after 6 years and having nearly put 100,000 miles on the car, I have become very respectful of Dixel, as the kids called her. Totally reliable, capable of carrying 2 kids 2 adults, a dog, 4 cycles, an Indian canoe, wetsuits, BBQ's and all you need for 2 weeks on the Outer Hebrides. Amazing fuel economy, low running costs and the best bit - heated seats. Those Swedes know a thing or two about cold weather comforts.

Tomorrow Dixel is swapped for a new (to us) Volvo which is much newer, less miles and even more economic.

And I even managed to get an old Audi Quattro a couple of years ago to ease my pain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.